Happy Birthday America.

Happy Birthday America.

Hey y’all!

How was your 4th?? I celebrated it the best way I know how, in our nation’s capitol with my best friend (that I’ve known since Kindergarten!), her family, and a couple of college friends. Who can complain about that?

Watching the fireworks in D.C. has been on my bucket list since I can remember. I’m not sure how it’s taken me over 20 years growing up so close to D.C., to finally complete this, but the important thing is that I did!..Right? It was just as fun and patriotic as I suspected.

After a (very) hot day of outdoor activities and eating a ton of delicious food, my friends and I trekked the 25 min walk to the Iwo Jima Memorial, plopped ourselves on the grass, and watched the enchanting fireworks explode over the Washington Monument. So stinkin’ cool!

Of course the celebrations didn’t stop there. My brother and new sis-in-law came into town for a fun family filled weekend. My grandfather grilled up this glorious huge lemon and onion stuffed salmon wrapped in grape leaves (from my Uncle’s winery). SO. GOOD. That complete with a couple of veggie sides, a nice glass (or 2 or 3…) of my uncle’s wine, and wonderful conversation, and life was great.

I hope you all had a wondrous holiday and were able to spend it with the people you love. So appreciative to have so many veterans in our family and among my friends. Love to you all.

xo
-C

Leave a Reply

